3.0 Release Notes *Updated (11/13/18)
Comments
-
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
1 -
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!1 -
madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
or... disable the creature or creatures.The wording states, "at the end of your turn, if you control 1 or more creatures and if your opponent lost life this turn, reinforce this support and your opponent loses X life, where X is the number of reinforcements of this support.
This support has two requirements that must be met.
0 -
With how that is worded I would assume that any sort of damage will trigger it, not necessarily combat damage. Therefore, disabling the creatures may not work (not like there is a lot of ping stuff in GB, but there is definitely some)Gunmix25 said:madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
or... disable the creature or creatures.The wording states, "at the end of your turn, if you control 1 or more creatures and if your opponent lost life this turn, reinforce this support and your opponent loses X life, where X is the number of reinforcements of this support.
This support has two requirements that must be met.
1 -
Best option against those supports is win faster!2
-
@Brigby
Question on the change to creature tokens and not gong to the graveyard. (From Guilds of Ravnica Update):
"Tokens, Copies, Reinforcements and the GraveyardNow that players are able to see the graveyard, a couple of rule changes were necessary to help clarify and simplify its use.
– Tokens and Copies will never be sent to the graveyard. Instead, they will be removed from the game. It’s not exiled, it’s removed from the game, as if they never existed."
Is this going to result in a Nerf to Angrath's 3rd ability, or will he be modified to still do damage when an opponent's creature tokens die? I really like him as a counter to ramp/combo decks, which often rely on Treasure (Storm the Vault), Wishes, and then lots of zombie tokens to kill you. I'd hate to suddenly have that removed because tokens (and maybe created supports?) no longer count as entering the graveyard.
Thanks in advance.5 -
Ooh, +1 to this. I didn't think of that either.stikxs said:@Brigby When you view jumpstart cards in your new graveyard view, can you see how much mana has already been given to them from exiling?
Also, can you disable a Jump Start spell in your graveyard, or do all of them have a confirmation box?1 -
It says and not or. I think it's reasonable to assume that you have to meet both conditions.Mburn7 said:
With how that is worded I would assume that any sort of damage will trigger it, not necessarily combat damage. Therefore, disabling the creatures may not work (not like there is a lot of ping stuff in GB, but there is definitely some)Gunmix25 said:madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
or... disable the creature or creatures.The wording states, "at the end of your turn, if you control 1 or more creatures and if your opponent lost life this turn, reinforce this support and your opponent loses X life, where X is the number of reinforcements of this support.
This support has two requirements that must be met.
You slip in your excitement.1 -
The and is fine, its the fact that there is no specification for type or source of damage.khurram said:
It says and not or. I think it's reasonable to assume that you have to meet both conditions.Mburn7 said:
With how that is worded I would assume that any sort of damage will trigger it, not necessarily combat damage. Therefore, disabling the creatures may not work (not like there is a lot of ping stuff in GB, but there is definitely some)Gunmix25 said:madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
or... disable the creature or creatures.The wording states, "at the end of your turn, if you control 1 or more creatures and if your opponent lost life this turn, reinforce this support and your opponent loses X life, where X is the number of reinforcements of this support.
This support has two requirements that must be met.
You slip in your excitement.
As it reads, if I cast Plague Wind and have a creature out it will trigger the support, even if my creature didn't attack.
My opponent lost life, and I control a creature.
If this is indeed how it works, this is gonna be real fun to play around with (although since it only triggers once per turn it won't be super broken, sadly)0 -
I agree with you in this regards. If say cruel reality was on the board or faith of the devoted, then yes... even if all of the creatures were disabled, the effect would still trigger because both conditions were metMburn7 said:
With how that is worded I would assume that any sort of damage will trigger it, not necessarily combat damage. Therefore, disabling the creatures may not work (not like there is a lot of ping stuff in GB, but there is definitely some)Gunmix25 said:madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
or... disable the creature or creatures.The wording states, "at the end of your turn, if you control 1 or more creatures and if your opponent lost life this turn, reinforce this support and your opponent loses X life, where X is the number of reinforcements of this support.
This support has two requirements that must be met.
0 -
Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Ease up on your snark, friend. The "Dies to removal" argument is when people argue that a powerful support or creature isn't a problem because it can be destroyed.My response, on the other hand, was a direct comment on "there's nothing you can do about it", because it's possible that Tilwin didn't see the part of the effect description that mandates there being a creature in play for V2's effect to trigger.0 -
Yes. It does in fact "overflow" from one Jump-start card to the next.ElfNeedsFood said:Does the mana "overflow" from one Jump-started card to the next? For example, if I exile a card with 10 mana and the first Jump-start card requires 5 mana, with the next 5 mana hit the second Jump-start card?
Unfortunately when I used Apex of Power to exile cards from my hand, it did not cause the mana to go to the Jump-start cards in my Graveyard.Tilwin90 said:(I'm thinking here in particular at Apex of Power which could power up jumpstart cards)
Yes. Both Trial of the Planes and Rising Tensions will reward GRN Booster Packs to players.fiirst said:
Wow! we will get GRN boosters from both Totp & RT events, right?Brigby said:Event Changes
Trial of the Planes- Changed the Booster Reward: M19 to GRN.

Yes. Just like with cards in your hand, you can see how much mana Jump-start cards in your Graveyard have acquired.stikxs said:Brigby When you view jumpstart cards in your new graveyard view, can you see how much mana has already been given to them from exiling?
Based on the wording of the change and of the Fiery Demise ability, my interpretation is that Angrath will no longer deal that damage when an opponent's creature token dies. Having said that though, I'll be sure to ask the team for an official verdict.Magagumo said:Brigby
Question on the change to creature tokens and not gong to the graveyard. (From Guilds of Ravnica Update):
"Tokens, Copies, Reinforcements and the GraveyardNow that players are able to see the graveyard, a couple of rule changes were necessary to help clarify and simplify its use.
– Tokens and Copies will never be sent to the graveyard. Instead, they will be removed from the game. It’s not exiled, it’s removed from the game, as if they never existed."
Is this going to result in a Nerf to Angrath's 3rd ability, or will he be modified to still do damage when an opponent's creature tokens die? I really like him as a counter to ramp/combo decks, which often rely on Treasure (Storm the Vault), Wishes, and then lots of zombie tokens to kill you. I'd hate to suddenly have that removed because tokens (and maybe created supports?) no longer count as entering the graveyard.
Thanks in advance.
There is no way to disable a Jump-start spell in your Graveyard. A confirmation prompt will appear each turn.Mburn7 said:
Ooh, +1 to this. I didn't think of that either.stikxs said:Brigby When you view jumpstart cards in your new graveyard view, can you see how much mana has already been given to them from exiling?
Also, can you disable a Jump Start spell in your graveyard, or do all of them have a confirmation box?5 -
Brigby said:
Unfortunately when I used Apex of Power to exile cards from my hand, it did not cause the mana to go to the Jump-start cards in my Graveyard.Tilwin90 said:(I'm thinking here in particular at Apex of Power which could power up jumpstart cards)The blog post also does say "players must purposefully exile cards that have already acquired mana" so that makes sense, if sort of unfortunate for us
.Thanks for all the answers Brigby!0 -
Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
Not quite... It's just a change in playstyle when it's out...
Some planeswalkers you can just ignore and do what your deck does but there are a few where you have to change your style sometimes playing them:
Vraska1's First
Bolas1's First
Teferi's 3rd (some decks are annoyed by his first but it's less extreme)
Lilliana1's 1st
There are others, but these 4 are potentially major changes to your playstyle given fighting them all with the exact same deck and no sideboarding.
So now Vraska2's 3rd is added to the list.
(And I've been told often enough to just play around Bolas that I'm not letting anyway get away with saying that's not a strategy for other things!)0 -
khurram said:
It says and not or. I think it's reasonable to assume that you have to meet both conditions.Mburn7 said:
With how that is worded I would assume that any sort of damage will trigger it, not necessarily combat damage. Therefore, disabling the creatures may not work (not like there is a lot of ping stuff in GB, but there is definitely some)Gunmix25 said:madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
or... disable the creature or creatures.The wording states, "at the end of your turn, if you control 1 or more creatures and if your opponent lost life this turn, reinforce this support and your opponent loses X life, where X is the number of reinforcements of this support.
This support has two requirements that must be met.
You slip in your excitement.
I'm really glad that doesn't say "You slip in your excrement." like I first thought. It seemed a very weird thing to write!0 -
Kinesia said:Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
Not quite... It's just a change in playstyle when it's out...
Some planeswalkers you can just ignore and do what your deck does but there are a few where you have to change your style sometimes playing them:Right. The fact it's indestructible is a pretty major change, but at least it can be turned off (even if temporarily). I think it's pretty clever, really. I guess we couldn't really expect we'd get an ultimate the same as the paper version.
I am a bit disappointed in her other abilities, though.0 -
madwren said:Kinesia said:Mburn7 said:
Ah, the old "Dies to Removal" argument. I love it.madwren said:
Well, you could kill her creatures so that the effect doesn't trigger.Tilwin90 said:Her ultimate is plain stupid. First, it costs the same as her second ability, what?! Then you practically can't remove it with anything (save for River's Rebuke that bounces?). And then the effect keeps growing and growing and there's nothing you can do about it?!
Not quite... It's just a change in playstyle when it's out...
Some planeswalkers you can just ignore and do what your deck does but there are a few where you have to change your style sometimes playing them:Right. The fact it's indestructible is a pretty major change, but at least it can be turned off (even if temporarily). I think it's pretty clever, really. I guess we couldn't really expect we'd get an ultimate the same as the paper version.
I am a bit disappointed in her other abilities, though.
Hmmm... Actually, I wonder whether it was done _specifically_ to help her fighting her younger self!0 -
As a practical matter, this might get incredibly annoying in long matches. The confirm prompts added for the Flash ability, while necessary, are already mildly annoying... a graveyard loaded up with Jump Start cards you don't necessarily want to use, each one prompting you on every turn, might tip people over the edge. Can we not add a "Never" option for this ability?Brigby said:
There is no way to disable a Jump-start spell in your Graveyard. A confirmation prompt will appear each turn.0
Categories
- All Categories
- 45.8K Marvel Puzzle Quest
- 1.6K MPQ News and Announcements
- 20.8K MPQ General Discussion
- 6.5K MPQ Bugs and Technical Issues
- 3K MPQ Tips and Guides
- 2.1K MPQ Character Discussion
- 186 MPQ Supports Discussion
- 2.5K MPQ Events, Tournaments, and Missions
- 2.8K MPQ Alliances
- 6.4K MPQ Suggestions and Feedback
- 14K Magic: The Gathering - Puzzle Quest
- 536 MtGPQ News & Announcements
- 5.5K MtGPQ General Discussion
- 99 MtGPQ Tips & Guides
- 452 MtGPQ Deck Strategy & Planeswalker Discussion
- 313 MtGPQ Events
- 68 MtGPQ Coalitions
- 1.2K MtGPQ Suggestions & Feedback
- 5.8K MtGPQ Bugs & Technical Issues
- 550 Other 505 Go Inc. Games
- 21 Puzzle Quest: The Legend Returns
- 7 Adventure Gnome
- 6 Word Designer: Country Home
- 469 Other Games
- 177 General Discussion
- 292 Off Topic
- 7 505 Go Inc. Forum Rules
- 7 Forum Rules and Site Announcements







