40 Card Deck?

Options
13»

Comments

• Brigby
    Brigby ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 7,757 Site Admin
    edited May 2017
    Options
    (Disclaimer: I'm not a designer, nor are my comments representative of the design team)

What is everyone's opinion of mill mechanics in paper MTG, such as a Jace's Erasure combo deck? It seems like were it not for the win mechanic from milling an opponent's entire deck, then mill mechanics in paper MTG would be considered useless as well.

Ignoring the win mechanic, my perception of milling is that it's high-risk, high-reward where you let rng decide if the next card you mill is a measly Bellows Lizard (gets opponent closer to strong card) or a Dark Ritual. (reducing the effectiveness of their win condition)

When it comes to the appended cards, my understanding of their explanation is that those cards aren't accessible until the prior 40 cards are drawn or exhausted. Milling 4 copies of a card still means you need to go through the rest of the deck until you can access a new set of 4 (with the exception of fetch cards, of course)

//Edited Because Spelling -Brigby
  • toastie
    toastie Posts: 119 Tile Toppler
    Options
    Brigby said:

What is everyone's opinion of mill mechanics in paper MTG, such as a Jace's Erasure combo decks? It seems like were it not for the win mechanic from milling an opponent's entire deck, then mill mechanics in paper MTG would be considered useless as well.
    Milling your opponent in paper does 2 things:

1. Wins you the game (slowly and terribly, but people enjoy it)

2. Puts cards in the graveyard for you to interact with (say to reanimate their creatures).

Outside of those reasons, it is, as you said, useless. Neither of these is possible in MTGPQ, so it is kinda worthless. Additionally, milling into exile only does the first.

Brigby said: