Toxic Elite vs n00bs... going forward, how should they relate to each other?

Options

Comments

• Sirchombli
    Sirchombli Posts: 322 Mover and Shaker
    Options
    Attempting to understand and be respectful of each other's position
    Ohboy said:

There needs to be a penalty imposed on people who don't move up if this is implemented. The carrot and the stick. It's as simple as that. And people are unwilling to support that idea. 
    That's a bit presumptuous. I don't recall anything like that being brought up. It could be a good idea, just haven't heard said idea, yet. I'm all ears, though. 
  • Ohboy
    Ohboy Posts: 1,766 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    My experience as a noob here is that the "toxic" elite have been nothing but helpful, so I cannot vote for either option in the false dichotomy presented here. Put me up for a rising tide raises all boats. The elite have always seemed to give people who needed help a hand up, and the game works better for it.
    This is 100% truth.

Within a day of joining the Forums I got tons of advice and invited to a Discord group full of veterans who have been nothing helpful and nice.

Tomorrow will be two weeks since starting this game and I am way further along progression-wise than I should be.

No one is a noob here for long. Your final statement says it all. 

This poll begs the question, because the noobs that stay noobs and struggle are the ones who do not join online communities like the forums, reddit or Facebook.

The noobs and elite players have minimal contact. There's no conflict. Everyone you see here is either an elite player or on the way to become one(temporarily embarrassed elites, to paraphrase Ronald Wright) .

It's painfully obvious that most players don't frequent our haunts just by looking at the numbers. 

If you're here and you're reading this, you're already part of the elite class. 
  • Mainloop25
    Mainloop25 Posts: 1,943 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options