Answers to Undergrowth Champion?

Options
knthrak
knthrak Posts: 39
edited June 2016 in MtGPQ General Discussion
UndergrowthChampion.png

For each color, what are some reasonable strategies for dealing with an Undergrowth Champion? Without throwing 4-5 cards and 25+ mana at it?
Some potential answers...
White: Suppression Bonds
Blue: Almost any bounce card. Claustrophobia.
Black: ???
Red: ???
Green: ???

Comments

• Plastic
    Plastic Posts: 762 Critical Contributor
    Options
    Black: Languish, Blightcaster, Demon's Grasp etc
    Red: ignore it and burn opponent asap
    Green: use fatties, preferably with reach, to end it in a few turns.
  • shteev
    shteev Posts: 2,031 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    I started playing Roil Spout in Gideon for this guy. It does come back the next turn, but then Gideon should have enough creature strength to cope alright with a 4/4 Undergrowth Champion, its the 9/11 Undergrowth Champions that really cause the problems.
  • EDHdad
    EDHdad Posts: 609 Critical Contributor
    Options
    Just keep hitting it. It dies just fine.

Other basic ways to deal with it:

* Nerf its power (Jace's first ability, Tightening Coils, Weight of the Underworld, etc)

* Bounce it (Disperse, Harbinger of the Tides, etc)

* Disable it (Suppression Bonds, Claustrophobia, etc)

* Steal it (Exert Influence, Turn Against, etc)

* Set up your own annoying, hard to kill creature loop (Murder Investigation + Knightly Valor, Despoiler of Souls, etc)

* Fly over it (anything with flying).
  • span_argoman
    span_argoman Posts: 751 Critical Contributor
    Options
    Anyone has any suggestions for how to deal with it as Red?
  • majincob
    majincob Posts: 732 Critical Contributor
    Options
    Anyone has any suggestions for how to deal with it as Red?

You can't kill it easily, but each turn you steal it, it doesn't block your creatures that turn.
  • zaann85
    zaann85 Posts: 119 Tile Toppler
    Options