PvP MMR

13»

Comments

• hothie
    hothie Posts: 210 Tile Toppler
    edited October 2021
    67IronMan said:
    So I am trying to understand the intricacies of PvP MMR. I am currently can make it to 75 wins quite easily within the Polaris meta (Grocket > Karnak > Sabertooth and back again.

I'm still pretty new to this game. I have all 2*s max champed and most 3*s capped at pre-champ level 166 with a handful of low level 4*s and no 5*s. 75 wins seems pretty amazing to me as I can barely get 25 for the HP (level 8) and have hit 40 a few times, 75 twice with Shang-Chi and one other 5* intro event. To regularly hit 75 would be fantastic. However, seems like after seed teams I'm immediately facing numerous teams with mid-level 5*s that have double or triple the health of my boosted chars. MMR is a total mystery. I pay a hefty skip tax and can eventually find teams in my range, but it takes a while (and lots of iso) to do that. I've even tried the advice of losing a few battles but still getting huge teams in my queue. What gives?
    I'm still less than a year into the game, so I know what you mean. Two quick points:

I would recommend champing your 3*s, but others say to keep them soft-capped, so look deeply into both options. The added health and damage output are nice, but the champ rewards are what will propel you into having a roster that is more capable of handling better rosters than yours, (which you will never get away from.) But others say that keeping them soft-capped will keep your MMR down, but if you're facing teams with 5*s, then it looks like your MMR is already high enough that I don't think it will matter.