Structural analysis, PvP model (long)

MacEifer
MacEifer Posts: 45 Just Dropped In

I posted a few of my thoughts on the game here and there, but I spent some time expanding on the idea and thought I'd make it its own post, especially since it needs expanding to a significant degree from the original subject matter of that thread.

As a bit of background, I've worked in the game industry for about 9 years. Now I'm not a designer, but working with game systems every day somewhat changes your perspective.

I'll be referencing Hearthstone at some point because I got a good look into how that sausage was made and the two games have some basic structure in common.

The game in its current state has some holes in it that development clearly is trying to address, but it seems they're not quite sure which way this should go as they've gone back and forth on the PvP structure a few times in recent history.

Structure is the operative word here. The game's mechanics as soon as the tiles drop are great. However, the things that happen under the hood and where the magic happens in any game like this is with the structures that the actual gameplay rests on.

To know how we need to look at the structural problems, some basics have to be established.

- Rewards are important

An FTP game hinges to a great degree on rewards being given to the player. They need to

be meaningful enough so that the player tries to get them and scarce enough to make the player feel like they gained something without devaluing the experience.

- Structure is important

Any reward centric game that you sign up for needs to show you what you get, how you get it and how much you need it. Failure to do so breeds frustration.

- There is more than one target audience

Any game with a veriety of game modes attracts players of different mindsets, different goals and different economic means. Because of this, game systems need to be diverse.

- Making changes is difficult