A question for veteran players

Options
Akoni
Akoni Posts: 789 Critical Contributor
A post by @PiMacleod regarding player desire against 6* characters made me wonder what players thought during the introduction of 5* characters. I started playing after the introduction of 5* characters. Furthermore, I didn't begin participating in the forum for some time after that. As a result, I have no idea what it was like for players when epic rarities hit the field.

Was there excitement or angst?

Did players welcome or resist?

Did opinions change after they arrived?

Comments

• DAZ0273
    DAZ0273 Posts: 9,631 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
  • Sekilicious
    Sekilicious Posts: 1,766 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    Awww 2015. Such a simpler time 
  • DAZ0273
    Options
    When I started there were four 5* - Surfer, Phoenix, OML and BSSM. The interesting thing was how quickly things started to creep slowly and in a measured way in terms of how good they were - by the fourth release Surfer was already considered the worst one, yet he was better in every possible way than champed 4*. OML & Phoenix had synergy and BSSM had his niche anti-strike tile thing. Although OML's yellow was overpowered, none of them seemed game breaking and you had a bit of a rock paper scissors thing as Surfer could counter Spidey's cheap stun and Spidey could counter OML/Phoenix strike tile generation/spam and all of them could kick Surfer's butt.
    So I guess it all seemed reasonable enough.
    I think the true fear of a 6* tier comes from the idea that all that work and effort put into 5* characters will be a huge waste of time and to stay relevant you would have to start again.
  • ThaRoadWarrior
    ThaRoadWarrior Posts: 9,166 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options