Character Design

Options
Akoni
Akoni Posts: 789 Critical Contributor
A little background info before I jump into it...
I am a game designer. More specifically, I am a hobby game designer as I have a day job that I am very good at. Though I plan to publish some of my work in the future, I do not plan on becoming a game designer full time. I have spent more hours than I ever thought I would on game theory, design analysis, etc. Though I am considered passable in most areas, my strengths as a game designer include character design and world building. I have enjoyed submitting suggestions for characters since joining the forum. If your curiosity is peaked, check out a couple of the design challenges I have hosted:
https://forums.d3go.com/discussion/84315/character-creation-challenge-star#latest
https://forums.d3go.com/discussion/84488/character-creation-challenge-vlad-dracula#latest

The goal of this post...
The purpose of this post is to take something I learned about character design and share it with players (and devs if they wish) as it applies to MPQ. It is not my goal to point out flaws or degrade anyone's work. In management, we use the sandwich approach which is the layering of statements with the least palatable statements squeezed in-between more palatable statements. So, I will start by saying that I think the developers are doing a pretty good job. They have been hit with some strong criticism recently from players over 5-star characters like Adam Warlock, Yellowjacket, Magneto, and Cyclops. I am a member in that criticism camp, but less as a player and more as a game designer. I have to say that, overall, they have done some good work.