Character Artwork

Options
Just what the hell is going on with some of the art for the recent characters? I started playing a year ago and was impressed by most of the in game artwork. Black panther, wolverine, cyclops, indestructable hulk, colossus, beast, antman, nick fury, jugs, sw pretty much most tbh. Then some new guys were released throughout that time. Thanos was good but then super bland 5* panther, the new spidey and the 2 worst of all. Sandman and danny rand. Its not just the overall art but also the coloring. There just isnt any depth or texture. Sorry its just i like drawing and such myself and love looking at games art on general, some of it is amazing. But the art is falling flat atm. Anyone agree?

Comments

• Dragon_Nexus
    Dragon_Nexus Posts: 3,701 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    Well for one the artist who did the initial artwork for the game left some time ago, I believe.

I like the new artist *overall*. Their work has bolder colours, I find. That said, yeah some faces aren't quite on point. I'm really not keen on the new Starlord or Sandman (his mouth is all kinds of wrong in the fighting portrait. Looks okay when he makes a move though!)

Even the old artist wasn't always on point. From the moment she was released I thought Psylocke looked wrong. Flat greasy looking hair and her face didn't seem quite right. Mighty Thor is my fave Marvel character, and I hate the way her eyes are visible behind the helmet in the game. Not keen on her >=O expression either.

There are goods and bads with both artists. Clock & Dagger are *fantastic*, as are Carol, Medusa, Rocket & Groot, Gamora and so on.
  • broll
    broll Posts: 4,732 Chairperson of the Boards
    edited October 2017
    Options
    Sandman is the only one I really think is bad from the list. Sandman’s face reminds me of Strong Mad:

PS - This forum is still a million times worse than the old. That took way longer to attach two images via the mobile then it should have...