PVE suggestions

Comments

• Nemek
    Nemek Posts: 1,511
    Bugpop wrote:
    Riggy wrote:
    Well, as I understand it, the nodes did cap out on points, even with the multiplier. So if the leaders got far enough ahead of you, you wouldn't be able to completely catch up to them with just 1 refresh. Correct? Not that it really matters, more just curious.

I think that's true up to a point. For the most part, I ignored the nodes with the low points. I missed a round as well. I was able to push to the lead several times. I didn't finish #1 but had I started playing 1 hour sooner last night I would have had it. I was top 25 I think.

Yeah, it's still somewhat true. There is a maximum amount of points during every refresh/sub-event/whatever. Technically, if you joined Unstable ISO on the first day, didn't do any missions, and just did the last refresh on the last day, then you wouldn't have caught up. In events with larger point spreads, it's way more true.

For the topic as a whole, I think that you'll find if the PvE structure switched to a pure grind with your rank explicitly tied to the number of hours played, you'll see a significant drop off in player participation, and that is why it's not the current system. While such a system sounds more "fair", placing emphasis on amount of time spent on an event will most certainly lead to rapid player burnout at the top end and players in the low and middle section of competitors 'giving up' on events due to the futility of it all.

I'll agree that an entire event probably shouldn't hinge on a 1-2 hour block of time that's especially poor for our EU players, but I don't know if there is a particularly great solution out there.
  • Nemek wrote: