Does D3 License Each Character Seperately From Marvel?

Options
2»

Comments

• hodayathink
    hodayathink Posts: 528 Critical Contributor
    Options
    mega ghost wrote:
    I worked in the industry. Marvel / Disney does in fact have policies to shift support from X-Men and Fantastic Four properties to properties they have the film rights to. This is also why the Inhumans have seen so much focus, they've been trying to make them stand-ins for mutants.

There's plenty of real-world examples, from t-shirts (re-released shirts have had the X-Men and Fantastic Four characters Photoshopped out, see here.) to the upcoming Marvel vs. Capcom game which seemingly excludes all X-Men and Fantastic Four characters.

We literally only know 6 characters in the new MvC game, nowhere near enough to know for sure whether or not that's actually going to happen (rumors say that it will happen, but said rumors aren't backed up by anything).

That being said, and to paraphrase something that I believe a writer said when a fan asked him this question, if you had a choice, would you promote the thing that you made 70% of the money on, or 100% of the money on. Like it or not, these mobile games basically exist as promotion for the movies and merch, and Marvel corporate has decided that they'd rather promo the stuff they own all the rights to than most of the rights to.
  • mega ghost
    mega ghost Posts: 1,156 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    mega ghost wrote:
    I worked in the industry. Marvel / Disney does in fact have policies to shift support from X-Men and Fantastic Four properties to properties they have the film rights to. This is also why the Inhumans have seen so much focus, they've been trying to make them stand-ins for mutants.