2»

Comments

• Moon Roach
    Moon Roach Posts: 2,863 Chairperson of the Boards
    DFiPL wrote:
    Moon Roach wrote:
    Smudge wrote:
    Moon Roach wrote:
    I just re-read this and realised, he didn't say that they're not in the office on 2nd January. We get 2 non-weekend days for New Year, I thought USA had at least one.
    It depends on the business. If one's line of work typically follows banking and federal government observed holidays, then they would be off work Monday the 2nd as observed New Year's Day. Many standard businesses do not; it depends on how management approaches it.

I work in IT for a major US corporation, and our corporate unit shuts down for a week and a half to two weeks over the holidays. My department is 24x7x365 IT operations support, however, so we still staff even on Christmas Day (which I worked last year).

My wife works in food/beverage insurance, and they follow banker holidays; her company will not be in the office on the 2nd.

Wow, so businesses have a choice as to whether or not to give their staff Monday 2nd as a holiday? Not wanting to get too off-topic, it does seem unfair, unless there's some other recompense.

Going completely off-topic... We have Waitangi Day (6th February) and ANZAC Day (25th April) as national holidays. Until a few years ago, if either was on a weekend, tough. Then they were "Mondayised", so if either falls on a weekend we get the following Monday as a day off instead. Most shops and cafes are still open, but often cafes will add a surcharge of up to 20%.

Does any of that 20% go into the pockets of the employees working the cafe that day to compensate them for having to work when the white collar folk are off, or is it business owners taking advantage of people having the day off to charge them more?