Vision: I have an equation. Sam: Oh, this'll clear it up.

2»

Comments

• CrookedKnight
    CrookedKnight Posts: 2,579 Chairperson of the Boards
    If their product / service cannot support itself, through sales or investment, it dies.

My point is that if their cashflow doesn't allow them to actually make a functioning game, then it's not supporting itself. To borrow a phrase from Nextwave, their business model is ☠☠☠☠.
  • HaywireII
    HaywireII Posts: 568 Critical Contributor
    I'm also a Software Engineer for a living and every time they make a change that breaks existing gameplay I have to ask myself "Why aren't they using Unit Tests". Every character and every power should have some tests built that get run every time they do a build of the game.

Professor X's blind spot unit tests wouldn't be all that hard.

Apply match damage. Professor X took damage? Fail
    Apply single target damage. Professor X took damage? Fail
    Apply AOE damage. Professor X took damage? Pass

There are so many unit testing and mocking frameworks out there for every development enviroment that it doesn't make sense that they are having these kinds of problems in this day and age.

That being said I'm happy with the actual improvements they've been making to the game. I like Champions, I like Shield Clearance Levels, I like vaults for events instead of plain tokens. I LOVE having 10 CP at 575 in PvP. The game is completely self sustaining for me in terms of Hero Points and I don't feel I have to pay to win. I only have to drop money on my terms when I feel the need to treat myself or support the game.
  • smkspy
    smkspy Posts: 2,024 Chairperson of the Boards
    I do give them credit for many of the changes, champions, xp, and shield levels have made me play more. Yet I can't help but feel they didn't go far enough with the changes to match the user bass. The difference between scl 7 and scl 8 pathetic, so why wait this long to introduce it.