Vision: I have an equation. Sam: Oh, this'll clear it up.

bbigler
bbigler Posts: 2,111 Chairperson of the Boards
edited November 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
I'm a software engineer (not for D3/Demiurge) and I understand the decisions made by managers of software programs. Their bottom line is current and future revenue. So, their goal is to keep their software team employed for as along as possible while working on this game. They surely would like raises and bonuses, like the rest of us. There is clearly a causality between releasing new characters and increased player spending. So, that is why they release new characters every 2 weeks. They simply need a paycheck.

As for the difficulty in getting 4* and 5* covers: they want to keep this money train going for as long as possible. If players progressed quickly and got 5*s covered and leveled up in just a few months, then everyone would be at a 5* level and the game would get boring and people would start quitting. People like something to shoot for, an ultimate goal; once you get there, you glory in the moment, but then it fades and you move on to something else. Progression is on a reverse exponential curve, the further you go, the slower you progress. So, that is why 5* progression is very slow and SCL8 rewards are only slightly better. They don't want players to get to the end and then quit.