How do the players feel about the game?

Comments

• jobob
    jobob Posts: 680 Critical Contributor
    Hear me out for a moment because what I'm gonna say might instantly generate an emotional response...

Is the grind:reward ratio that bad?
    Is the G:R something new?

Back in the 90s I started playing an rpg game which at the start of the game saw your characters increase very rapidly...then later in the game (when you really need them to improve quickly) it becomes an endless grind of random battle encounters which progresses them by a miniscule percentage of their potential.

Even earning new equipment for characters was an endless grind of random battle encounters HOPING they drop that 1 piece of equipment I've been looking for.

I never heard anyone complain that this was a terrible system. I never heard anyone say they hated it. In fact I still hear to this day that final fantasy 7 is one of the greatest games ever made. A game that relies on a lot of the same principles as this ... Grinding for little rewards... Random prize acquistion.

So i pose those two questions again?

Is the G:R new or bad? Bad you could argue for...new you can't since every single rpg relies on this mechanic.

I'm not arguing for or against the primary progression and acquisition mechanics this game, simply asking a question.

This is a fair question, and I like the way you asked it because I think of this game as something of an RPG as well.

Yes, I think the G:R is way off, because of a few mechanics that are present in RPGs that isn't in MPQ (I don't know specifically about those RPGs, but I've played enough to speak in generalities).