Supremacy Goods Effect

atomzed
atomzed Posts: 1,753 Chairperson of the Boards
edited January 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
(Disclaimer: I'm not an expert nor well verse in the gaming economy. But I like to read and this was something I came across. I felt that it may be describing what MPQ is experiencing.)

This Gamasutra article talks about the "Supremacy Good" (SG).

http://gamasutra.com/view/feature/17719 ... ation_.php

He defines SG as "A supremacy good is a good or service that reduces the value of all other linked goods and services in its space, including itself."

I argue that at this point in time, 5* characters are a form of SG. At 5/6 covers or more, 5* reduces the value of all other * levels. It also reduces the value of itself, as a player with a 5*, no longer feel the need to compete for the 4* and 3* rewards.

The risk of the SG is that it monetized well ONLY in the beginning. It eventually hollows up the game population. See the description the writer said:

"Multiplayer games are generally played on servers, where each server is a distinct play environment that is separate from other servers. For payers on these servers, a game of "virtual chicken" arises where the committed spenders will attempt to outspend each other.

Once the "winner" has been determined by spending the most, monetization activity rapidly approaches zero and servers become similar to ghost towns. The typical Asian microtransaction model-based product adapts to this by starting new servers every few weeks to allow players on dead servers to start the process over again on a new server. Unless you plan to "spend the most" on this next server, at some point the whole process becomes apparently futile, and the consumer will adapt by realizing the only way to win is to not play."

I believe that the SG effect can be seen in the following events in MPQ: