Roster Advice 2* -> 3* Transition + Other Advice (HP usage)

Unknown
edited September 2015 in Roster and Level Help
Hey guys, this is my first post on these forums so apologise if I happen to flaunt any rules. I’m fairly new to the game and would love to seek some advice from you vets out there especially those who are squarely in 3* territory with a few fully covered 3* lvl 166 heroes.

I've just bought 25k HP and am at a dilemma as to what to do with them. I previously had an idea as to what to do but am not so sure if I should be doing this anymore.

My current 3* roster

Luke Cage – lvl 104 (4/4/3) Used 2.5k HP for 2 red covers, intending on going (5/5/3)
Daken – lvl 66 (2/3/2)
Beast - lvl 43 (2/1/1)
Thor – lvl 40 (5/1/1)
Hulk – lvl 40 (4/2/1)
Loki – lvl 40 (3/1/1)
Kamala Khan – lvl 40 (2/2/1)
Steve Rogers 3* Cap – lvl 40 (1/2/2)
Magneto 3* - lvl 40 (1/2/1)
The Hood – lvl 40 (1/2/1)
Cyclops – lvl 40 (1/1/1)
Rocket and Groot – lvl 40 (1/1/1)

Black Window Grey Suit – lvl 40 (2/2/0)
Patch – lvl 40 (2/0/2)
Iron Fist – lvl 40 (2/0/1)
Doctor Doom – lvv 40 (2/0/0)
Human Torch – lvl 40 (0/0/2)
Black Panther – lvl 40 (1/1/0)
Deadpool 3* - lvl 40 (1/1/0)
Blade – lvl 40 (0/0/1)
Gamora (0/0/1)
Psylocke – lvl 40 (0/0/1)
Scarlet Witch – lvl 40 (0/0/1)

I have a maxed fully covered in ideal covers 2* team (Ares, OBW, Daken, Human Torch, 2* Magneto, Thor, 2* Wolverine).

Ok so here goes my initial plan and whether I should change this based on the advice from you guys.

My initial plan was to fully cover a few top tier 3* covers (Above) and immediately begin competing in pvp for the top few rewards being one, 800 progression point award for the 3* cover and consistently placing at least top 50 (Possibly top 25) in events that I am keen to win covers for my 3*.

Is the above a good idea and if it is, who should I fully cover? I have tried looking for synergies and good composition teams but most are fairly outdated and I’m hoping to get some really sound advice on this.