Soul of Emancipation not destroying opposing creature [Investigating]

Options
stikxs
stikxs Posts: 518 Critical Contributor
I just cast this card in a match and chose a Rem Karolus as the target opposing creature to destroy. An angel was created under my opponent's control but Rem was not destroyed. And animation played that looked like damage being dealt to Rem but with no -#. I imagine the destroy is coded as damage instead of destruction, as we've seen in past bugs.


Comments

  • jtwood
    jtwood Posts: 1,285 Chairperson of the Boards
    edited August 2022
    Options
    Here's a vid:
    This appears to be an offshoot of the issue with Cut Your Losses and Faithbound Judge (vid link) where casualty won't actually kill a creature with prevent damage (but it will still give you the casualty benefit). In general, there seems to have been a sudden change to how prevent damage works with destruction.
  • Magic:PQ Support Team
    Magic:PQ Support Team ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 3,300 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    Hello guys,
    Thank you for all the information provided, this issue will be investigated!
    If you have any additional information that you consider relevant, please don't hesitate to send me 😊
    Rebeca.

  • RUR_PL
    RUR_PL Posts: 21 Just Dropped In
    Options
    I've made a ticket through game support, but here it is again.

    It's Prevent Damage prevents killing a creature with Soul of Emancipation:

    https://youtube.com/shorts/GYb3PjiWEF0?feature=share
  • jtwood
    jtwood Posts: 1,285 Chairperson of the Boards
    Options
    Still a bug