Nerf culture

Options
Akoni
Akoni Posts: 789 Critical Contributor
In the forum, the word "nerf" keeps getting thrown around. It appears the common arguments for a character getting nerfed are
  • The character is difficult to deal with because the player doesn't have the resources
  • The character is seen often as it is top tier and, therefore, used by many, if not, most players
  • The character can be dealt with, but drains valuable resources (i.e. health packs)
The above points do not mean that the character is overpowered or broken in anyway. The first point can occur when a player decides to streamline their character pool to focus on meta characters. The second point is merely a best tool scenario. Hammers are a very common tool, because they are perfect for the job they are used for. If I'm a carpenter, I'm going to see hammers. In MPQ, I'm going to see X character. As for the last point, if I "exercise" my characters in a battle, I am expected to rest (recovery time) or feed (health pack) my characters.

Like a hammer, nerfing is a very powerful, blunt tool for fixing a problem. It should be used as a last resort in situations where devs had an "oops" moment. Characters like Bishop who obviously dominated in a way that was completely unintentional should have been nerfed. Characters that do exactly what they're supposed to do by speeding up the game, or enabling characters to "punch up" should not be nerfed. I don't think disliking a character for any of the points above means there is a "problem" with that character requiring a nerf.

When/why do you think a character should be nerfed?

Comments

• TheEyeDoctorsWife
    TheEyeDoctorsWife Posts: 829 Critical Contributor
    Options
    This will never happen/ be popular, but being I like roster diversity, I’d like any character showing up 75-80% of the time in top 100 SCLs 9,10 to be either nerfed or made ineligible for PVP play in the next season . 
  • fight4thedream