Rin And Seri, Inseparable Behavior [As Designed]

BongoTheGreyBongoTheGrey Posts: 26 Just Dropped In
edited 18 August 2020, 19:46 in MtGPQ Bugs & Technical Issues
This card reads:

"When you cast a cat creature: If you control 2 or less creatures, create a White Dog token. Otherwise reinforce this creature.
When you cast a dog creature: If you control 2 or less creatures, create a Green Cat token. Otherwise reinforce this creature."

Since this card is a Cat and Dog creature at the same time. Once it enters the battlefield it should immediately create the White dog and Green Cat tokens. However this is only happening if you already had another Rin and Seri on the battlefield. The same happens with the reinforcements. If you already have 2 creatures on the battlefield and cast Rin and Seri it should be immediately reinforced. However it only happens if you previously had Rin and Seri out on the battlefield.

Please see the attached videos. The first one shows that it doesn't creates the tokens the first time you cast it. The second one shows how it doesn't reinforce itself the first time you cast it

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0v7c8pgoh4d2i8y/Rin&Seri Bug1.mp4?dl=0


https://www.dropbox.com/s/4qy8smkqglpo211/Rin&Seri Bug2.mp4?dl=0
Tagged:

Comments

  • Oktagon_SupportOktagon_Support ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 1,210 Chairperson of the Boards
    Thank you for the feedback!
    This issue is now under investigation.
  • Oktagon_SupportOktagon_Support ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 1,210 Chairperson of the Boards

    Game Designer:

    "A card doesn't trigger itself in the "cast" Action, as this trigger only becomes available after the card is already on the battlefield. If the Action stated "When a dog enters the battlefield...", it would work as you said. But as the Action states "cast" instead of "enters the battlefield", it should only trigger itself if there's already a previous version of the card on the battlefield."

    If you have any other questions, please be sure to let me know so I can get you an answer.  ;) 
    Marcela
  • BongoTheGreyBongoTheGrey Posts: 26 Just Dropped In
    Perfect! Thanks a lot Marcela. If the rule says that, then something needs to be done about Jhoira, Weatherlight Captain. It has the same ETB cast effect and it does triggers itself in the "cast" action. That was my confusion. The only real difference is that Rin and Seri's wording is "When you cast..." and Jhoira's is "Whenever you cast..."


    https://www.dropbox.com/s/j1qupqedq1h5r33/Jhoira, Weatherlight Captain.mp4?dl=0
  • Oktagon_SupportOktagon_Support ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 1,210 Chairperson of the Boards
    I'll pass this feedback along to my team so they can analyze it.

Sign In or Register to comment.