Oh how the times have changed.

Options
Mburn7
Mburn7 Posts: 3,427 Chairperson of the Boards
edited October 2019 in MtGPQ General Discussion
I played a few rounds of Rising Tensions and Training Grounds today, plus most of Ravnica at War:  Red this weekend, and a thought struck me out of nowhere:  This is not the same game I used to play.  (sorry, long post incoming)

When I started playing MTGPQ (fun sidenote:  I discovered the game existed in an **** app banner add) so many years ago this is what there was to work with:
5 Origins Walkers, costing 10 crystals each
Ob Nixilis, Tezzeret, and Gideon Ally costing 250 crystals each (citation needed).
Origins and Battle for Zendikar (BFZ)
Story Mode (same as it is now)
Quick Battle (Training Grounds with PvP placement and runes/ribbons awarded per fight based on Planeswalker level)
A rare card for sale (Shrine of Forsaken gods), for like $3.99

The best way to get cards was the Big Box, which had a bit more than double the number of cards currently found in a Premium Pack for 600 crystals (the guaranteed rare had a chance to become a mythic instead).  If you did a lot of QB grinding and were lucky with your QB rankings you could get one of these every 1.5-2 months.  If you were lucky you would get a few non-dupe rares/mythics in a Big Box (the first one I ever opened had 4 copies of the same rare and no mythics).
Duplicates could be turned into Runes if you wanted (same rate they are now, but not done automatically).

And that was it.  There were no events (just a "coming soon" tab).
There were no tiers, no mastery.  A brand new player had to face a top-tier player just as often as they faced another noob.
All cards were either Creature, Spell, or Support.  No Enchantments or Artifacts or Equipments or anything.  Just Supports.
No Planeswalker had a higher mana bonus in any color greater than +3.
A 6/6 Reach for 12 was so powerful it had to be nerfed.