a change in pve slice1 scoring

jredd
jredd Posts: 1,387 Chairperson of the Boards
when i started playing pve i chose to play in slice 4 which ended at 9 PM my time. as i started to get more competitive i was doing 7 clears right around 9, which my wife really loved... i even almost quit once, but i found that by switching slices to slice 1 i could do most of my clears through the day and keep mpq to a minimum at night. not playing optimally landed me in the top 100, usually in the 75-90 range and that was ok. 

then came the end of tapping and my same efforts in slice 1 now landed me consistently in the top 50 (30-40). which was great cause for the same effort i was getting an extra 4* cover most events. 

something has changed over the past 7-8 events. now my efforts are placing me outside of the top 50 again (aside from the PX 5* essential event). i'm not sure if there is some form of tapping going on again or if (probably the most logical explanation) some folk have realized there are covers to be had and are playing in s1 now. if the latter is the case than so be it. i can't change the way i play. but if something a little more fishy is going on hopefully it can be detected and fixed.

has anyone else noticed a change? 

Comments

• bluewolf
    bluewolf Posts: 5,729 Chairperson of the Boards
    I might ask if you are bothering to wait for flips at all (not starting play right as the event opens).  If you are joining right away, you could wait a bit later in the day and catch the second flip (usually does so around 9-10 AM EDT for Slice 1 - AKA 2-3 hours after start) or the 3rd, which probably/usually flips very late in the first day.

Doing that will push you out of the group that cares most about placement (top alliance players) and you'll probably be able to do better with relaxed play.