AI uses vanguard abilities multiple times in a turn [As Designed]

madwrenmadwren Posts: 1,906 Chairperson of the Boards
Here was the sequence:

1. vVraska in play at start of turn. Summon Assassin.
2. AI matches gems and casts a second vVraska. Also gains an Extra Swap.
3. Then uses vVraska again and summons a second assassin.

Thus it could be one of two things granting the extra use: the extra swap, or the reinforcement. 

//Edited Title - Tombstone


Comments

  • Mburn7Mburn7 Posts: 3,195 Chairperson of the Boards
    If its the reinforcement I guess it kind of makes sense (still probably wrong, but understandable)
    If its the extra swap thats a problem
  • WiLDRAGEWiLDRAGE Posts: 133 Tile Toppler
    edited July 2019
    Players can do this also.  If you activate a Vanguard and play another copy of that same Vanguard at the same time as you get an extra swap, you can activate it again the same turn.

    You cannot reactivate it just by gaining an extra swap.
  • TremayneTremayne Posts: 901 Critical Contributor
    @WiLDRAGE - I don’t recall reading that rule on the introduction of vanguards. So you are describing what is allowed from experience (I guess)?

    @Brigby (or @Tombstone since you seems to be one answering at the moment) could you please update us on what is the correct behaviour?
  • WiLDRAGEWiLDRAGE Posts: 133 Tile Toppler
    Tremayne said:
    @WiLDRAGE - I don’t recall reading that rule on the introduction of vanguards. So you are describing what is allowed from experience (I guess)?
    Sorry for delayed response. Yes, I do it all the time in one of my decks, @Tremayne.
  • TombstoneTombstone ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 1,170 Chairperson of the Boards
    Hi everyone, I'll relay this to the team for confirmation on whether or not this behavior is intended. 
  • TombstoneTombstone ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 1,170 Chairperson of the Boards
    Hi everyone, I discussed this issue with the team, and they have confirmed that Vanguard Support abilities are intended to able to be used multiple times in a single turn if the player or opponent Reinforce the Vanguard on a turn when they gain an extra swap. 
  • Mburn7Mburn7 Posts: 3,195 Chairperson of the Boards
    Tombstone said:
    Hi everyone, I discussed this issue with the team, and they have confirmed that Vanguard Support abilities are intended to able to be used multiple times in a single turn if the player or opponent Reinforce the Vanguard on a turn when they gain an extra swap. 
    Cool, thanks for the quick clarification!  (and before people argue, it does kind of make sense in a weird way with how walkers work in paper.  Not saying its the best way, but certainly justifiable)
  • TremayneTremayne Posts: 901 Critical Contributor
    I’m fine with this implementation, now vanguards could see wider use. I just wished vanguards weren’t in the support category, since they are behaving so different from supports in general. I don’t know of any supports that can be activated like this (many supports can be triggered multiple times, but I think that is different).
Sign In or Register to comment.