So long, and thanks for all the fish (warning - kinda long)

rbdragon
rbdragon Posts: 479 Mover and Shaker
So I'm sure there are many who don't care about retirement announcements/threads, so if that is you, I apologize.

I started playing this game back in February of 2014. I never got to see the 2AP Ragnorok, but other than that, I think I've seen pretty much everything else. I remember a lot of times where I would finally get the right set up to be part of the meta, only to have that meta nerfed...I always laughed at that. I remember missing out on Hulkbuster because it was released when I was in the hospital for 2 months, and I fell way behind when that was all that was being used...I always laughed at that as well. I remember being really lucky when 5*s were announced and getting Silver Surfer built really quickly...only to see OML/PHX fly past him. That one didn't really bother me that much, as when everyone was complaining about how bad SS was, I LOVED using him and did pretty well with him.

Cupcakes were fun. I know that's controversial, but they were fun for me - the thrill of putting out a cupcake and hoping I could get my shield back on before getting hit was awesome...plus knowing I was contributing to helping others who might not have been able to get to the magical 1200 number was great. I never saw PVP as overly competitive for some reason - I liked the community aspect much better.

My bread and butter was PVE though, and that's where I devoted most (and later all) of my attention for most of the 5 years spent playing. IMHO, Heroics should have come back in some form. Anything that made the game more of a puzzle is a plus. But even though I could, and would get frustrated many many times, I pretty much always had fun playing MPQ. That's just not true anymore, and honestly, it's nothing that MPQ did (or didn't) do.