MPQ: A microtransaction game

D4Ni13
D4Ni13 Posts: 745 Critical Contributor
edited September 2017 in MPQ General Discussion
I started playing MPQ 3 years ago, back when 2* Wolverine was one of the best covers you could have. Even though microctransaction games we're not that popular back then, I knew even from the start that MPQ is such a game, and there will be moments when some content would be harder for me to reach, meaning that I would have to either pay or wait a bit longer for that certain content. This is a normal thing to expect from any microtransaction game online, because that is how they work. 

Back then it was a question of what is better ? Charge users to pay at the beginning (FIFA example), charge players monthly (WoW), or let them play free and motivate them to pay during play (every microtransaction game, including MPQ). Recently more games are functioning on this logic. There are a lot of examples here, including games from Blizzard or other major companies (even Magic the Gathering, who joined this club just 1 year ago). 

So lets understand what is going on in a microtransaction game
Well it's pretty simple: you are a Free-2-Play user most of the time, but you have the option to buy things in the game with real money. Beside this, you also gather resources from the game, which also have a value in real money, since the system doesn't care where you got your gold (for example) when you pay with it. Maybe you earned it, or maybe you bought it with money, that gold still has a real value, even if you didn't pay for it. The economy behind a microtransaction game can be quite complex. Bottom line is that, this kind of games give you the option to play free (but it comes with the cost of a slower progression), or pay to speed up the progression and/or have access to exclusive content. 

What makes the difference between a good microtransaction game and a bad one ?