Cheating or not? Emulator play.

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User] Posts: 0 Just Dropped In
Just a quick one here to get your opinions on this:
would it be considered cheating in MPQ if someone run the game via an Android emulator on a PC? These can speed up the pace at which the app runs. While this also affects the in-game time it also cuts active playing in half running it at x2 speed.

Comments

• Bowgentle
    Bowgentle Posts: 7,926 Chairperson of the Boards
    If it cuts down the time the animations take, yes, it's cheating.
  • Bowgentle
    mexus said:
    I'm not an expert. I haven't tried. But I know there are Android emulators in which you can toggle the speed and it affects everything the emulator does. So while an animation would take 2 seconds instead of 4, the game would still count it as 4 seconds.
    Running a PVE clear would take 25 minutes instead of 50 - but the game would count it as 50. 

How would the game count it as 50 minutes? You start a node, the game records when you start it.
    How would it secretly double your time?
  • Starfury
    Starfury Posts: 719 Critical Contributor
    Bowgentle said:
    mexus said:
    I'm not an expert. I haven't tried. But I know there are Android emulators in which you can toggle the speed and it affects everything the emulator does. So while an animation would take 2 seconds instead of 4, the game would still count it as 4 seconds.
    Running a PVE clear would take 25 minutes instead of 50 - but the game would count it as 50. 

How would the game count it as 50 minutes? You start a node, the game records when you start it.
    The question is who decides the point value of a node. Client or (i'd assume) Server.

But if there would be any impact from the client running faster, it would be in favor of the faster client, since points would also recharge in 12 hours instead of 24. And since we don't see anyone with thousands of points more anyone else, we can safely exclude that possibility.
  • Ruinate