Explain benefits of hoarding to me please

2»

Comments

• bbigler
    bbigler Posts: 2,115 Chairperson of the Boards
    I've been working on my 4*s for the last 5 months and quickly realized that I can open Legendary tokens faster than I could level up those characters, so I logically started hoarding LT and CP since then.  I still use some CP to open Classics every week, but I no longer exceed my ISO production rate, which is about 35K+ per day.  

I also came to realize that the best way to transition to 5*s is to hoard and then open a few hundred Latest Legends in order to champ the latest 5*s.  This is a very long term goal though, but I'm getting there slowly.  Because of vaulting, my plans have changed a bit.  Before I open a few hundred LT's, I should have most of the latest 4*s champed, PLUS extra ISO to champ the rest in order to avoid selling covers. 

• Spiritclaw
    Spiritclaw Posts: 397 Mover and Shaker
    1) If you don't have a slot, don't have nearly enough hero points to get a slot, and are considering opening a token that may get you something worthwhile that requires a slot, then hoard.

2) If the token in question changes its rewards periodically (such as a taco token) and the rewards you want aren't currently showing, then hoard.

3) If the token in question uses a vault mechanic (taco tokens again) and relatively few of the prizes mean much, and you want to maximize your chances for the prizes that do mean something to you, hoard until have enough to swing hard.  Then pull only until you draw one of the meaningful prizes.  Stop and begin hoarding again.
  • snlf25
    snlf25 Posts: 947 Critical Contributor
    I would argue that it isn't so much about hoarding having benefit as it is about it just being an ugly necessity of the game if you don't want to waste an absolute ton of 4* covers. I'm now in a situation where all of these characters are ready to be championed:

Carnage 4/5/4
    Gwenpool 5/4/4
    Mordo 4/5/4
    Spider-Woman 3/5/5