Steam and new player rant.

Alsmir
Alsmir Posts: 508 Critical Contributor
Steam player here, getting close to 1 year of playing, mostly casually. In the recent weeks I was playing a bit with MPQ app on my phone. Here are some of my thoughts.

Steam vs app.
1. No contest here. I fell like I'm an asbolute moron for not researching MPQ when I started playing 1 year ago. I was convinced that Steam version was the only one available. Months later I found out that app version existed, but I ignored it, thinking that if I decide to try it, I will be able to use my existing account.

Why can't I use my account from Steam on my phone? Why is it possible for Hearthstone to have linked accounts but not in MPQ? Why can't I transfer my collection to app account?

Unacceptable.

2.If app and Steam versions are so different, why the hell players on both platforms compete against each other? We don't even have true PvE (progression only), I will always be in disadvantage as a Steam player!

3. Playing MPQ on my phone is the best thing ever.

Imagine if any time you wanted to eat something you had to go to a restaurant. How inconvinient would that be?

I feel similar playing on Steam. I have to go to my home, turn on the PC with Steam installed to play MPQ. It sucks!
With app I can play:
- during lunch break at work
- in the kitchen, whe I'm waiting for my food to cook
- during  a bus ride
- at any time I have few moments to spare

It infuriates me to think that I struggle sometimes to get a stupid 4-clear in a sub, because I don't have enough free time at home, but if I was able to play on my phone, I'd do those 4 clears, finish DDQ, do some PvP and other stuff no prob.

4. Intercepts, those bloody intercepts.
ISO, tokens, HP, even CP! That's a free currency. Even that 500 ISO would require few games, while here I can just drop my phone for up to 30s and  claim the reward.