The game in general

Skrofa
Skrofa Posts: 388 Mover and Shaker
Just my opinion on how I see the game. Hopefully it will stir up some diacussion.

First, a little background on my gaming experience.
It's not much, not too hardcore, but I remember that aside from games that I had bought for my console, I have never bought a PC game (though I played a lot). Mainly because I felt they were quite expensive.

A few years back I started playing a browser game called Wartune. It seemed simple enough. Do quests, level up, do the dailies, gather resources, pve, pvp. It was my first experience with the f2p thing. So I leveled and leveled. Until I could not play pve bcause my gear was too low and i got trashed in pvp by people who were in my level but soooooo much stronger than me. And then I learned about "camping". Do NOT level up. Only do missions with minimal xp. Hoard resources. Counter-intuitive? Tinykitty YES! Effective? Double tinykitty YES! I became a force to be reckoned with in both pve and pvp. Real life money? For six months 7 euro per month vip. And that was it. It took the better part of my day though. I scheduled everything around it. Eventually I burned out and stopped.

In the forums, the situation was exactly the same as here. People clamouring for changes. The game was riddled with bugs. People shouting about whales beating the kitty out of them. And the most common thing? Goodbye threads, quitting threats, and people saying that the game will eventually die. Well, I think wartune is 5 years old and still going strong. Are the same people still playing it? Well, I don't really think so. But new people keep pouring in. New whales, new casuals. As far aa I understand now, it is not really the same game as it was in 2013 when I played, but it's there.