Programming 101 vs RNG

tgibbs40
tgibbs40 Posts: 113 Tile Toppler
edited January 2017 in MPQ General Discussion
Hi everyone! I have been reading the forums for awhile now (much longer than I've actually commented on them) and a topic I see consistently is the "randomness" of draws. The reason this interests me is twofold. 1) I am a computer programmer. 2) I feel RNG isn't as "random" as the narrative I see some people suggest it is. So lets take a minute and do a little exercise in computer programming to explain what I think is going on.

Disclaimer: This is simply my theory and in no way is meant to suggest this is in any way factual. I do not have access to any code to make a statement that my theory is fact.

So the first thing we need to do is set up our "RNG" with variables.

function RNG() as integer
dim SCL as integer
dim CP as integer
dim RosterSlots as integer

if (SCL <= 40) && (CP <= 100) && (RosterSlots <= 50) then

RNG = 0

else

RNG = 1

end if
End Function

What we did there is create a function called RNG that is a small function that works with other functions. Integers are numbers. The integers we used are SCL, CP, and RosterSlots. Hopefully what they stand for is self explanatory. Our condition is set up on what I would call a low CL, decent amount of CP or less, and a small roster. We are using an If/Else statement in our function to set flags in our program. IF our function meets our criteria THEN it will set the flag at 0. ELSE it will set the flag at 1.

Elsewhere, in the application, there is a function based OnButtonClick of the Classic Legends (just an example). It will look at our flag and do something IF the flag is 0 or ELSE do something if the flag is 1. This function could be set up to increase/decrease odds of 4*, 5*, specific characters, specific colors... based on our flags.