Colorless Covers Vs. Colorful Covers - A coding Question

pheregas
pheregas Posts: 1,721 Chairperson of the Boards
edited December 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
First off, I'm not a programmer (though I did take one C++ course many years ago in college). I do, however, realize that coding is complex and that what might seem to be a simple change can actually be quite difficult to implement.

That being said, the forums have talked ad nauseum about implementing a system of colorless covers for 5 star characters to get around the disappointment and frustration of gathering yet another red phoenix cover on your 0/0/5 phoenix.

My question, and suggestion, is to bypass the colorless covers and go directly to colorful covers. Make each cover include one of every potential color that is applicable to an individual character. And I think this should apply to all characters, not just 5s. We've all, at one point, been stuck with that one next tier character that we just can't get that last colored cover to fully max cover.

In my limited/low experience, it would seem to me that adding information to what is already there would be far easier to encode than to remove all the preexisting information and make a new Colorless color.

You'd still only be able to apply one cover. It would just highlight each of the available ones, then click the one you want (much like how champion redistribution of powers works) and then the cover is consumed, just like normal. Now no covers go to waste.

Is this idea even feasible? What are the pros and cons of either system? Are there monetary ramifications to the company to switching to a colorful/colorless system? In my experience, I might actually be more likely to spend HP on a vault if I can attain a colorless/full cover since, odds are, that at least one-third of any undercovered character's cover in a given vault will be the wrong color to be useful otherwise.

Comments

• Punisher5784