What exactly affects my scaling?

richterbelmont10
richterbelmont10 Posts: 186
edited November 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
I've researched scaling, but I'm still confused. I'm in 3* land. Of the 3*, I have 34 of 40 champed. Of the 4* I have about 21 but they have very few covers and most are below level 100. I do however (and this is the big question) have SEVEN 5* characters. Four of them have 1 cover each, two have 2 covers. They are all at level 255, except for my single-yellow cover OML, who I maxed to level 270. I did that way back when I was a noob and was ignorant of things like scaling and did not know this could hurt me.

Anyway, I find I get clobbered on the last PvE nodes. (I can't defeat level 238 Jugs + 2 muscles). Are my seven 5* characters increasing my scaling? If so, by how much?

Comments

• SummerGlau
    SummerGlau Posts: 1,027 Chairperson of the Boards
    No since I have all but one five star unlocked but only 14 Three Star Champions and I only faced level 243 Juggernaut on 5th play of same node (which was actually next to last)
  • morph3us
    morph3us Posts: 859 Critical Contributor
    Yes, but only to an extent. Scaling is determined by the average level of your top 4 characters (if an email from CS is to be believed). Your 5*s are are 255-270. Having said that, if you have champed 3*s, when boosted, they're likely in the 260ish range already, so your 5*s aren't scaling your PvE nodes out of reach.

It might just be that A Tree Groots in New York is one of the more difficult PvE nodes anyway, which is why you're having trouble with it. Rostered 5*s mostly only hurt your roster if you level them substantially with a 3* roster, or if you roster them with a 2* roster.
  • DFiPL
    DFiPL Posts: 2,405 Chairperson of the Boards
    morph3us wrote: