What is the end of this game?

bbigler
bbigler Posts: 2,111 Chairperson of the Boards
edited October 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
Have you ever thought of where this game is going? Will they ever stop introducing new characters? Will the character power creep continue forever? Can you ever get to the end of this?

I started playing in the beginning (2013) and back then 2 star characters ruled PvP. 3 stars were rare to be seen and never fully leveled up. Slowly, it became easier to get 3 stars and people started building their 3 star army. It was slow, but people liked the progression. But I was annoyed from the beginning at how often they introduced new characters (2 per month). While I already had too many characters to get covers for and level up, they introduced another one and another one and another! You had to purchase hero points just to have enough roster slots. But then, you lacked ISO, which was slow to accumulate.

I suppose the developers figured out that game progression was too slow, so they started giving out better and better rewards. DDQ really got things moving and they would have simultaneous PvP and PvE events, so the game became a real time hoarder. The once rare 3 stars, were now common, abundant and easy to get and then the game became a 4 star quest. I then thought that the end game would be collecting and leveling up the few 4 star characters that existed, but soon after they started introducing 5 star characters. So then I thought the end game would be collecting and leveling up the few 5 stars. But now I'm thinking that this game will never end.

They filled out 3 star and 4 star characters now (40 each), so does this mean they will start introducing 30 more 5 star characters? Will they then start introducing 6 star characters!? Since the words "Legendary" and "Epic" are used, I guess they could be called "Ultimate" Characters. Their marketing model has no end; in 5 years will there be 10 star characters?