XP difference between PvE and PvP

Orion
Orion Posts: 1,295 Chairperson of the Boards
edited August 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
So I started playing this morning. Went into DDQ and got 60 XP for clearing all 6 nodes (yes, even the Cho node). Then went into the Heroic PvE. Got 30 XP for clearing the 3 prologue missions and did my 4 clears in the first sub. This evening when I do 2 more clears, I'll get another 90 XP. Nice.

So then I went into Versus mode and got... nothing. You can't get any XP in PvP except for the very rare 2* cover drop or the occasional progression reward of a 2* or 3* cover. Of course PvP has mostly the same progression rewards.

That's a pretty big XP discrepancy between Story and Versus mode. Were the devs so desperate for people to play PvE that they made it the main way to increase your Shield rank?

Comments

• halirin
    halirin Posts: 327 Mover and Shaker
    PvP gives more covers, pve is more newbie friendly, pve rewards were already a little worse per time spent so this balances the two better, etc.

I'm sure there are lots of other good reasons that don't involve someone saying "pve is so bad we better bribe players to play."
  • JFisch
    JFisch Posts: 116 Tile Toppler
    PVP and PVE both give you 10 XP the very first time you clear a node in the event.
    PVE has the additional benefit of 10 XP once you receive all rewards for a node.

You'll also get 3 XP for each event token you open (PVP and PVE). Yeah, it's nowhere near as much XP, but perhaps that's on purpose, no?
  • mohio
    mohio Posts: 1,690 Chairperson of the Boards
    10 XP for first win in every single LR isn't half bad. Not to mention if you get in for all the seeds you're bound to rack up a bunch of 2* covers just from hitting those 7-8 seed teams.