Various Feedback and Suggestions

Options
zarrick13
zarrick13 Posts: 8
I've been playing the game for a couple months now, noticing trends and the various improvements and "improvements". Thoughts so far:

Gameplay: Very well done. Many times it does feel like a Magic game, complete with mana glut/defecit situations. Ten cards feels very odd, though I understand that it kind of represents 'four copies' of enough cards to generally fill a 60-card deck plus lands. It does still feel somewhat limiting for those that tend to play decks with more options to them. Even so, some of the best strategy comes from keeping tactical slots to a minimum.

Cards: This has proven to be very hit and miss. I can appreciate the effort it takes to translate a card game into a puzzle quest game. On the other hand, where in Magic you can normally build a pretty effective deck out of commons and uncommons, their gem-powered alternatives here are inferior in ways that make playing a common-card planeswalker against a rare-powered planeswalker very very difficult. A lot of this seems to stem from that same 10-card limit as that condenses the usual 60-card duel in a way that makes each rare count for so much more than each common can hope to cope with. Not to say that common cards can't win, but it's definitely a struggle given current balance.