Pay your testers (ie the player base)

justplainchips
justplainchips Posts: 133 Tile Toppler
edited July 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
First off, let me state that I'm a software developer. I know how difficult (ie impossible) it is to make bug free software. I also know that I'm glad I'm a dev and not in QA because that is also a very difficult and often underappreciated job.

That said, it sure seems like both dev and QA are falling down on the job with regards to bad bugs a lot more lately.

An alliance mate and I came up with a crazy idea this morning:
How much of the player base would be willing to take a patch early and act as the QA testers and report bugs, etc, for some kind of in-game compensation?
EDIT: I clarified below, but I'm not talking about running test cases or testing software, I'm talking about just playing the game and letting Demiurge know that there are game breaking bugs that mean a patch shouldn't be released.

They could reward anything: tokens, HP, ISO, CP, covers. I have to imagine that almost every player here would jump at the chance. Obviously different amounts would be worth more/less to different players. But I'm just thinking about the general idea here.

First, we're going to experience the bugs anyway.
Second, we all (most?) really do enjoy the game and want to help make it better.
Third, who doesn't like more stuff?
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• Linkster79
    Linkster79 Posts: 1,037 Chairperson of the Boards
    Testing is very boring and very repetitive so count me out. If I want boring and repetitive I would be a top 10 story event player.
  • TxMoose
    TxMoose Posts: 4,319 Chairperson of the Boards