Multiple Flame Jet tiles?

EDL666
EDL666 Posts: 73
edited June 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
I'm not an expert, but unless you rake in greentile.png very fast, you don't need 2 Flame Jet tiles, you lose out on major dmg output because you can't stack enough greentile.png for it to have any meaningful impact.

Now, this would require more balancing because every mission where the AI uses it would be more difficult, but can I suggest that the AI stops using Flame jet when it already has a Flame jet tile and 5-6 greentile.png? It either depletes its greentile.png or leaves it with just 1 greentile.png therefore making the whole "second Flame jet tile" irrelevant and possibly neutering the first one in the process. The AI willingly does less damage, that's what's happening every time. This almost looks like a bug because of how silly it is.

Comments

• Calnexin
    Calnexin Posts: 1,078 Chairperson of the Boards
    edited June 2016
    There's definitely a place for multiple jets. Each only drops your pool by 1, and their damage maxes out at 10. If you have enough to generate a second tile and still keep your pool over 10, it multiplies an already-impressive damage output. If you happen to have a green generator, you can build that pool quickly and down an enemy every other turn.

If you don't have anyone to generate green and/or have a bad board, firing it before you have 10 is pointless.

You can consider the AI's idiocy on powers to be a boon. It will fire off a jet as soon as it has the AP, so it's never a serious threat. That also means that Torch is typically a bad character for PvP defense, particularly if your win strategy depends on a strong green. I can't think of a single time I've seen Torch as an opponent in PvP (outside being the feature), probably for this reason. Without active control, he's horrible.
  • BlackSheep101
    BlackSheep101 Posts: 2,025 Chairperson of the Boards
    Asking to make Torch AI harder seems sillier...
  • thisone