OML discussion

Options
TxMoose
TxMoose Posts: 4,319 Chairperson of the Boards
edited May 2016 in MPQ Tips and Guides
so after my hoard pull earlier this week (https://d3go.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=44689), I now have a level 330, 4/1/5 OML. sounds awesome. he heals, spits out strikes, and has nice, high, match damage, and if he transforms, can become a killing machine, especially if more than 1 opponent is still alive. so, I'm still a noob playing him and frankly, I've lost more times with him this week than probably the last couple of months combined. I have a few questions that I'd like those with more experience with him to answer:

1) is 1 yellow cover just enough to barely get him usable? my guess is as 2 and 3 the healing becomes much more pronounced. I see tons of 1 yellow OMLs at the 330 range and don't hear about any "problems" with him, so...
2) maybe more likely, I'm just not efficient at using him yet. what are the tricks of the trade with him?

I've tried him with fist, and that's good up to a point. in pve against level ~300 jugs/ares/doom and such, they aren't really super powerful, but they can win most of the time. I've tried him with x23 and they are ok up to a point too. my best matches were in simulator where I ran him with iceman/im40 and just did my normal stuff with them and let OML take hits and heal. with 1 yellow, his transformed yellow is ok with 2 or 3 opponents standing (especially since you have strikes out from transforming), but at 1 cover, its not the game ender that higher covers would be. transformed, obviously my red and black are very strong (although not as strong as boosted thing or Cyclops). and I cannot imagine him being better than a boosted meta-4*, but everyone says he is, so I need to learn how to use him apparently and his character thread just doesn't have just a ton of team/gameplay tips in it.