Orbs of Warding vs Honored Hierarch (not renowned)

Options
Plastic
Plastic Posts: 762 Critical Contributor
I'd just like clarification if this is the way the game is supposed to work, but today with the above mentioned cards in effect an enemy Hierarch became renowned while I had Orbs active.

Is a damage value of 0 valid to trigger this?

Edit: I know this isn't MtG officially, but the way I interpret the rules for paper Magic seems like Hierarch should not become renowned.


615.6. If damage that would be dealt is prevented, it never happens. A modified event may occur
instead, which may in turn trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions
that can’t be carried out, in which case the impossible instruction is simply ignored.


SOURCE