That long cascade sound

edgewriter
edgewriter Posts: 68 Match Maker
edited January 2016 in MPQ General Discussion
Is there a purpose to the sound effect that goes off in game during a multiple match cascade. If I recall correctly past puzzle quest games had bonus experience or something that were signified by a similar sound after a multiple match cascade.

I have been playing MPQ game for two years and have always wondered what the point of the sound was. I haven't ever noticed any bonuses come from it.

Comments

• Magic
    Magic Posts: 1,199 Chairperson of the Boards
    there's sound in this game? icon_twisted.gif
  • edgewriter
    Yeah, I usually play with the sound off as well, but there's this chime that goes off when you've had a cascade of certain length.
  • madok
    madok Posts: 905 Critical Contributor
    I'm pretty sure that actually started out as the "Fatality" drop from Mortal Kombat in the beginning but was replaced due to licensing restrictions. icon_e_biggrin.gif
  • puppychow
    puppychow Posts: 1,453
    Since I find the sound effects so annoying, I play MPQ w/ mute on. icon_mrgreen.gif
  • TheRealJRad
    TheRealJRad Posts: 309 Mover and Shaker
    edgewriter wrote:
    Yeah, I usually play with the sound off as well, but there's this chime that goes off when the AI had a cascade of certain length.

fify

icon_lol.gif
  • JVReal
    JVReal Posts: 1,884 Chairperson of the Boards
    Since I play with the sound off too, the only sound I hear is my deep sigh, silent cursing under my breath and then I have to wake up the phone because it fell asleep from the cascade and subsequent slew of AI abilities. Yesterday I did my first move and got 3 Purple, yes! closer to whaling... AI did it's first move, 3 match 5's. Sigh, curse, wake up the phone.
  • puppychow wrote:
    Since I find the sound effects so annoying, I play MPQ w/ mute on. icon_mrgreen.gif
    This.