MPQ Luck Calculator

After Champions came out, I decided that it was time to spend my entire stash of Legendary Tokens and Command Points to try to build a usable 5*. I'd had average luck with the 60 or so LTs that I'd opened before, so I was hopeful that this would be the case again.

Nope!

From a total of 70 LTs pulled, I got exactly 2 5*s. Certainly a disappointing result, but I really had to know exactly how disappointing. So I kludged together this simple Javascript calculator that tells you exactly how lucky or unlucky you were. Go give it a try here:

http://dropproxy.com/f/CBF

SFfk0ob.png

(I borrowed Colognoisseur's 4* rankings from 10/19/2015 as an easy way to communicate ranking)

The calculation for these values are pretty straightforward, but sometimes a little counter to intuition. I'm moderately sure my math is sound, but I have to admit that I do not consider myself very good at math, so lemme know if I've messed up (I'm also not a Javascript programmer, so excuse the messy code). Maximum supported number of draws is 169, because 170! is too large for Javascript.

Minimizing any sampling bias is important and often hard to get around. For example, counting the largest number of consecutive failures is popular, but it's inherently problematic from a statistical standpoint because you're cherry-picking your numbers around a bad run. Similarly, counting redundant cards as failures and vaults are not going to fit into this simple model. Cases like mine, where a large, fixed number of draws are decided beforehand, are going to be pretty good.

I suspect that a lot of people also just blew all their LTs (and maybe their Heroic/Event tokens). How did everyone do?

Comments

• Malcrof
    Malcrof Posts: 5,971 Chairperson of the Boards
    84 tokens 10 5*s now, finally over 10%, i am strength Deadpool! I already have the face for it, now to work on my swordplay.
  • fmftint
    fmftint Posts: 3,653 Chairperson of the Boards