PVP...

Options
ghostride23
ghostride23 Posts: 22 Just Dropped In
edited December 2015 in MPQ General Discussion
Coming up of a year and this is my first time trying to play a full PVP event. Can't someone for the life of me explain the point system??? What's the purpose of losing points?? I get someone beats my team but why lose a random number of points?? It's like what I feel is this MPQ business model slogan to players, "Whatever you earn isn't really yours..." This kinda of stuff would turn anyone away and I don't understand why anyone would play it. I'll go back to grinding than spend 6 mins to earn 31 points just to be alerted I lost 51 then be matched up with teams that I know is suicide then a few mins later lose even more. And I'm sure other people I'm beating are getting the same frustration. What would be a better system? If this is a subject constantly being brought up sorry for beating this dead horse. This constant competitiveness is really redundant and the frustration is met with poor token pulls and the feeling being penalized for leveling up my characters I do have and a very rare chance to get higher characters I dont have.

Comments

• morph3us
    morph3us Posts: 859 Critical Contributor
    Options
    PvP point scoring is based on the Elo system. People with a higher score than you are worth more points, and people with a lower score than you are worth less. Someone the same score as you is worth 38 points. Generally, you want to be attacking people who are worth at least 45 points, if not higher. If you hit anyone worth less than 38 points, you'll lose net points on the retaliation.

Here's a snippet from Will, one of the devs as to the formula:
    Q: Can you give us the complete algorithm for figuring out how many points you’ll lose or gain?