An attempt to modify Iceman.

Dragon_Nexus
Dragon_Nexus Posts: 3,701 Chairperson of the Boards
edited September 2015 in MPQ General Discussion
This is a rough, rough, ROUGH-**** attempt to change a detail on Iceman that seems to creep people out. Specifically his eyes.

Now, I'm a self taught amateur artist. I think even saying amateur is bigging myself up too much. This was a quick 30 hour muck about to see if I could make his eyes less creepy. I had the idea going in that the black eyes were what put people off, and looking at images of him from various other artists they'd always seemed to give him white eyes. I figured that would be a good start.

Even then he still looked wrong and then I thought of possibly why. His eyebrows (or the shape where they'd be) are frowning...but his eyes are wide open. Last time I saw that was here.
http://cdn3.whatculture.com/wp-content/ ... mDafoe.jpg

Maybe not the look to go for.

So I messily lengthened his eyelids to narrow the eyes a little more. That actually seemed to help.
Just wondering what you guys think. Is this an improvement or did I just make it much, much worse =P

http://i.imgur.com/6wJGgM3.png

Comments

• Ludaa
    Ludaa Posts: 542
    Looks better!

My opinion...It's the realistic portrayal of his head that makes it creepy. It's a spot on depiction of a human head without hair masking it, they're quite large in real life. Look at some of the covers in the game, ( Fury, Cage, Bullseye ) and comics in general. You'll rarely see skulls wider than their jaw lines, unless they have hair. They should've taken the "28 year old actor plays part of High School all-star in upcoming movie" route when trying to depict his facial features.
  • Omega Red
    Omega Red Posts: 366 Mover and Shaker
    Now I want a version with flaming red eyes. icon_lol.gif
  • ClydeFrog76
    ClydeFrog76 Posts: 1,350 Chairperson of the Boards
    Somebody do one with pinkeye.