Game Difficulty!

emaker27
emaker27 Posts: 285 Mover and Shaker
edited June 2015 in MPQ General Discussion
This became extremely apparent with The Gauntlet, but has always been a part of the game:

Why are beginners able to compete with veterans? (from a design perspective)

This is the only competitive game in my experience to have this structure. And when I'm a beginner at any game I expect vets to beat me, and not be able complete the same events as them.

I feel like this undermines a desire for all players to improve their roster since that doesn't help you gain equal footing with vets since you are already there. And as a vet with maxed characters, how does that help me perform better than a beginner?

A guy/gal with a max character of 70 (1 cover 4*) was able to beat 100% of the third gauntlet part. Should that be expected of any game?

First person on the scoreboard and first page of their roster:
http://i.imgur.com/2zTvvTs.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/6dbXvMI.jpg

EDIT: Deadpool's Daily Quest is exactly what I'd expect the other events to be like. It has a set difficulty and is easier as you level up. But it's only a third of the game (at best) so isn't enough of an incentive for players to level up.

EDIT 2: Added screenshots since my statement about a beginner beating the gauntlet is hard to believe.

Comments

• Esheris
    Esheris Posts: 216 Tile Toppler
    I don't care if newer players are able to compete with Vets in PvE, I do care that they have an easier time...why is it getting harder the more I progress my roster?
  • Any chance we could focus more on the overall game design choices rather than continuing the "us vs. them" threads/posts? Seriously.

I'm a weaker player (2*s and a few decent 3*s) and made it through exactly 5 nodes in the first gauntlet sub. FIVE.

This isn't about noobs versus vets, it's about some bizarrely messed up game-building and a bunch of people angry and blaming each other rather than going to the source.