Misleading PvP nodes -- can we fix this please?

Hayek
Hayek Posts: 96 Match Maker
edited May 2015 in MPQ General Discussion
Let me start by saying that I have a fairly decent roster, where I've had at least 2 of the buffed star.pngstar.pngstar.png characters at level 166. Most of my characters are decently covered to the point where I can be competitive in most PvPs. Still, getting all the PvP progression rewards is a hefty investments in shields, to the tune of 1000 imcoin.png . Some of the recent changes make it a greater gamble trying for those top rewards - more health means longer matches, and let's not get into those matchmaking changes.. but I digress.

You can plan for your opponent's health.
You can expect to be hit sometimes while hopping.
What you can't plan around how many points you should expect to get if you win a match.

I'm not sure if this has always been the case, because I'm fairly new to the 800-1100 range PvP, but once you get up to those numbers, the amount of points the nodes show can vary drastically from what you actually get. For example, I was shielded at 972 points in the icon_psylocke.png PvP, with two 30 point nodes queued up. The first node actually gave me 30 points, allowing me to get the reward, but the second gave me 5 -- yes, FIVE -- points. I was hit during the second match for -46 points (thanks new match making). Had I done those fights in the opposite order, instead of 972 + 30, I would have gotten 972 + 5 - 46 + 30, leaving me lower than I started and without a progression reward.

This aspect of the game requires strategy, but it's very difficult to strategize when you are given misleading information. And in this case, this can cost you a lot of imcoin.png and leave you without anything to show for it. This doesn't seem like it would be a difficult thing to fix.. Can't we calculate how much those nodes will give you dynamically when you access the PvP page?

Comments