I like the low-stakes events

Options
Nonce Equitaur 2
Nonce Equitaur 2 Posts: 2,269 Chairperson of the Boards
edited May 2015 in MPQ General Discussion
Some of the high-stakes events require a tremendous amount of dedication, playing at least a few hours 3 times a day for four days. I believe I'm out of those, unless some character I really, really want comes out. I'm in a high MMR, so games take 8+ minutes unless an exploit is used, such as Prof X + BWGS. Using the same exploit for hours at a time is tedious.

The low stakes games, such as the recent Heroic events, I've actually found quite enjoyable. The limited rosters leads to some crazy teams I've never tried before. Most characters are quite playable now. The 3* character I don't enjoy playing are a short list: Colossus, Doctor Octopus, Iron Man, Psylocke, Sentry, Spider-Man. Yep, I like using Beast, Squirrel Girl, Captain Marvel, Daredevil, Ragnarok, Quicksilver, and Mystique.

MMR should be lowered some globally in PvE events. I haven't seen ridiculous levels recently, but it feels about 20% too high, especially for people needing to grind in order to win.

MMR should be easier to adjust, and should be team customized:
1. Team takes near zero damage -- MMR goes up for that team.
2. New team is used, MMR goes down.
3. Team gets badly beat up but wins, MMR goes down.
4. Team beaten, MMR goes down.

There is usually a required character in front, with two flankers. Two months ago, my own flankers were almost always 4Thor and XForce. The most popular flankers could be tracked by the game.

1. For each player, track the 10 flanker teams that are used the most.
2. For each of the 10 top-used flanker teams, adjust the MMR individually.
3. For a new team, start a new MMR calculation.

This would eventually be punishing for exploit teams, but if the player switched to other teams, they'd be back to having a reasonable fight.