Manual loop reset prevents effects from activating according to the card text [Investigating]

JinQuiet
JinQuiet Posts: 71 Match Maker
This is the text you see when you hit the loop limit.

Loop detected!
Do you want to stop the current loop?
NO YES
If you hit YES loop stops and the game sends you into the combat phase but it prevents effect that have to activate at the beginning of the combat phase.

For example.
Card named "Geistflame Reservoir" reads as follows
At the beginning of the combat on your turn:
You may deal X damage to any opposing target.

If you chose YES in the loop reset dialog this effect doesn't happen even though your creatures can still attack.

So there is a problem with a "beginning of the combat" trigger when you manually interrupt the loop.

I suspect there are similar effects that are not activated during the loop reset but haven't got that much time for testing.

Comments

  • stikxs
    stikxs Posts: 452 Mover and Shaker
    Side note, it also prevents Buried cards from happening. The popup will appear asking if you want to cast the buried card but even if you select yes it won't cast and move on to combat.
  • JinQuiet
    JinQuiet Posts: 71 Match Maker
    stikxs said:
    Side note, it also prevents Buried cards from happening. The popup will appear asking if you want to cast the buried card but even if you select yes it won't cast and move on to combat.

    This might be a reasonable thing to happen because loop relies on the constant card casting and resetting the loop should technically stop casting process regardless of the place the cards re cast from (hand/graveyard).

    The way I see it, right now the problem is with the phase of the turn that should happen after loop reset (after all casting is done).

  • stikxs
    stikxs Posts: 452 Mover and Shaker
    Cards casting from the graveyard are not part of the casting from hand phase that the LPS was designed to address (just like beginning of combat is not part of that phase and shouldn't be affected by LPS). Every phase after casting from hand should not be part of the LPS (buried, beginning of combat, when attacking, dealing combat damage, being destroyed, end of turn), or if they are future planning should have their own LPS, imo.
  • Oktagon_Support
    Oktagon_Support ADMINISTRATORS Posts: 2,519 Chairperson of the Boards

    Hello guys,

    Thank you for all the information provided, this issue will be investigated!
    If you have any additional information that you consider relevant, please don't hesitate to send me.

    Rebeca.