Looking for advice (some time veteran, but new mobile account)

Options
AardvarkPepper
AardvarkPepper Posts: 239 Tile Toppler
edited October 2017 in Roster and Level Help
I have some experience in MPQ, but I started a new mobile account and am looking for advice.

I'll have 19 slots available soon.  I plan to use thirteen of them for 2*s (all of them except Bagman - is Bag-Man ever an Essential Node character?  He's limited so I don't know.).  The fourteenth slot I'm rostering 1* Iron Man, the fifteenth slot 3* Doctor Strange, the That leaves four slots to fill in.  The question is what to put in, and how to get them?

As "favorite character" I currently have 3* Doctor Strange, 4* Spider-Woman, 5* Doctor Strange.  Any recommendations to change that up?

My 3* Doctor Strange is currently at 2/1/1.  Got lucky with some gold-heart pulls.  I plan to use CP to boost 3* Doctor Strange's cover count (starting with his passive yellow) to get him to champion pretty quickly.  Any recommendations to do differently? I also plan to keep him as a gold-heart character so I may pull random covers for him.  Again, any recommendations to do differently?  (Since I have one cover of each color, maybe I should gold-heart a different 3*?  Maybe Kamala Khan, maybe Scarlet Witch?)

As to 4* and 5*, I really don't know what I ought to use - preferably characters that will work well with an assorted roster of 2*s, and be able to handle situations 3* Doctor Strange can't.  I'm guessing something to counter passives would be good, but I can't think of anything offhand that stops passives.  I only plan to keep one 4* and one 5* unless otherwise recommended (since pulling the same cover off gold-heart selections can give more covers for a particular character).