Killing Creativity, Collecting Cash

shadax
shadax Posts: 1 Just Dropped In
First of all, let me start by saying that I've seen this game improve greatly since I started playing about a year ago.  A lot of rough edges have been smoothed out, and it's really incredible seeing minor fixes in just about every corner of the game.

That said, I've been playing less and less (for a lot of reasons) over the last few months.  Most of these reasons can be attributed to offensive and poorly designed F2P incentives--which were handled in a much better way not that long ago.  The pains started in KLD, and have grown considerably in AKH.  So while the game (from a programming perspective) has improved greatly, the design itself has been fundamentally broken.  I've been happy to toss $20 at the game with each improvement (probably totaling over $200 by now) to show my appreciation; but I'm left with feedback like this for the changes that break the game.  Let's step back a bit and look at the progression.

About 9 months ago--I recall a special Saheeli event.  D3 was introducing a new PW with this 3-PW event.  2 of the decks were custom, player-created decks; and the 3rd was a pre-made, bad-**** Saheeli deck--loaded with myths and a lot of synergy.  The top 10(?) players of the event were given Saheeli as a reward; and everyone else was drooling, waiting to buy her with crystals.  Pretty cool way to introduce a new PW, if you ask me.  Try-before-you-buy, and a strong competition for an even stronger prize.