EXTRA SWAPS: My Ideas for Amonkhet in Puzzle Quest

Mickleberry
Mickleberry Posts: 48 Just Dropped In

>>>=INTRODUCTION=<<<

I’ve been playing Magic: the Gathering since I was 9 years old, around the release of Fallen Empires. And as with Magic’s Puzzle Quest counterpart, I’ve watched the game grow in both fun-factor and complexity, with fascinating card interactions, a limitless variety of decks to design and near limitless number of strategies to utilize.

When I look at the two games side-by-side, I can appreciate how well Magic: the Gathering has translated into the match-3 app we all know and love. I can also appreciate how the app game has managed to take something as infinitely complex as Magic and turn into something that, at its core, is much simpler, and I think it’s paid off. “Activate” gems to replace activated abilities, Void gems to fuel Devoid and Ingest strategies, Energized gems as a sort of “Shared-Activated” gems strategy and Clue and Fabricate token supports are inspired. I think that these types of small board changes with immediate and major impact on the game makes for a greater challenge and deeper strategy, and I hope this trend continues.

That being said, I hope that this next set, Amonkhet, is one where WotC, D3go, Hibernum and Infinite Interactive do well to add depth, strategy and fun without giving into the impending doom that is complexity creep. All good games with a rotation of expansions eventually die from creating a game that has become so complex that it fails to bring in new players and eventually discourages the old players from continuing on. And with how much simpler (by the constricts of its own construction) it’s app counterpart is made, paper Magic has come up with ways to stave off complexity creep that Puzzle Quest may simply not be able to achieve.